top of page

Logroño (City)

Logroño was an old settlement, first of the Romans, under the name of Vareia, a commercial port, and then of the Celts[dubious – discuss]. From the 10th century, possession of Logroño was disputed between the kings of Navarre and those of Castile; the region was finally annexed to Castile. The name is a combination of le and Groin, mashed together as Logroño over time.  Alfonso VI of Castile granted Logroño in 1095 a charter of rights that served as a model for other Spanish cities. In 1609 and 1610 Logroño was the main seat of the Basque witch trials, part of the Spanish Inquisition.

Today, Logroño is the capital of the province of La Rioja, situated in northern Spain. Traversed in its northern part by the Ebro River, Logroño has historically been a place of passage, such as the Camino de Santiago. Its borders were disputed between the Iberian kingdoms of CastilleNavarre and Aragon during the Middle Ages. The population of the city in 2021 was 150,808 while the metropolitan area included nearly 200,000 inhabitants. The city is a center of trade of Rioja wine, for which the area is noted, and manufacturing of wood, metal and textile products.

bottom of page